What is Chemistry? And other stuff you really didn’t need to know about chemistry

I was searching for a new post, as I am required to post bi-weekly, and I realized that I didn’t know the official definition of chemistry! It turns out that there are two definitions, both of which I was aware. One is about rapport and a connection between others, and the other, what I am truly here for, the science one. The official definition is: the branch of science that deals with the identification of the substances of which matter is composed; the investigation of their properties and the ways in which they interact, combine, and change; and the use of these processes to form new substances. In simplier terms, where people learn what stuff makes up other, bigger  stuff. Now that that’s clear, what to write about? I searched chemistry, and got articles like, “What to do if you’re Failing Chemistry”, and “101 Chemistry.com”. These things weren’t exactly what I was looking for. So I searched some more. Finally, I found it! The subject of today’s post. What are little known facts people don’t know about chemistry? Or, more specifically, what are some little known facts about things having to do with chemistry?

1. The periodic table was invented by Dmitry Mendeleyev, a professor from the University of St. Petersburg in 1869.

2. Chemical weapons are very hard to ban, due to the ingredients for it. One thing is used to make blue jeans, but is also used for mustard gas, another is in bug spray. Outlawing some of these gases is hard, because it would greatly affect the manufacturing industry.

3. You might be eating a toxic food as you are reading this. Yup, because artificial dyes are commonly used in many snacks and sugary foods. Some dyes originate from chemicals from petroleum. You know, the stuff in gas, asphalt, and tar?

This is just the beginning of all the other wacky stuff I’ve learned. It is pretty interesting, especially number two, what with Syria and all. Number one was just something I didn’t know, and maybe you didn’t either. Number three, well, that one kind of scared me and thought that maybe you should know this. I’d add some more, but I have to finish some other homework! So Ta Ta for now and hope to see your chemical reaction soon!

Leave a Reply

