Bye Bye Bloodsuckers!

Mosquito 2

I hate mosquitos. I really do. Every year, ten zillion mosquitos bite me, and my legs and arms are walking red bumps. I must have tasty blood, not that I would know. Last year, in biology, we learned about genetcially modified animals. One was a mosquito. As mosquitos are one of the most annoying bugs, as they spread dieases like malaria and leave itchy bumps, I figured it would be a nice end to my day to talk about how to stop mosquitos from ravaging my arms and legs.

It started with a man named Sabyasachi Sakar (say that five times fast) and his group of chemists. While studying zebrafish fed with moquitos that had water soluble carbon nanoparticles, the nanoparticles started to appear to slow the development of mosquitos. It was, in fact, these water-soluble carbon nanoparticles that causes death in mosquitos after they fail to develop. These nanoparticles are made through burning wood in an oxygen reduced enviroment. However, as they are new, experiments are still being conducted to see whether or not this would be the most beneficial solution to moquitos.  Anything that can cause at least one less bite a year sounds good to me!

So Ta Ta for now and hope to see your chemical reaction soon!

Leave a Reply

