Big Bang Theory Bazingas!

Bazinga! Maybe you’ve never heard that before, but, if your anything like me, and, I mean, you are on a chemistry site, you have probably heard about the show, The Big Bang Theory. This show is fantastic, filled with clever puns, and hilarious situations. The main character, Sheldon, continuously makes jokes, so I thought I’d share some ones with you. Most of these jokes are self-explanatory, but I’ll explain them just in case.

  • Sheldon: Want me to tell a Potassium joke? Leonard:  K.  (Potassium’s symbol is K)
  • Sheldon: Do I know any jokes about sodium? Leonard: Na.  (Sodium’s symbol is Na)

  • Sheldon: Want to hear a joke about Nitric Oxcide? Leonard: NO  (The compound Nitric Oxcide is formed by Nitrogen (N) and Oxygen (O))

  • Sheldon: Chemistry puns? Leonard: I’m in my element. (Because you really need to know the elements for chemistry)

  • Sheldon: Neutron walks into a bar, and wants to pay tab. Bartender says, “For you, no charge. (neutrons are subatomic particles that have no charge. They are neutral, unlike protons and electrons, which are positively and negatively charged, respectively.)

  • “Sheldon: I think these chemistry jokes are getting old. It’s time to Barium.” (Barium is an element, so it relates to chemistry. Here, it is used as a play on words, instead of bury them, it’s barium (bury-em))
  •  Rahj :Are you made of copper and tellurium? Because you are CuTe. Howard:  you are NEVER going to get any girls… (Copper’s symbol is Cu and Tellurium’s is Te)

Social media is everything these days, and using jokes, especially on funny but educational shows like the Big Bang Theory is a clever way to help someone learn something. That’s why this blog and the electron dance project I had to do was so helpful. It allows you to work with social media as well as do something fun, while engaging in an educational project.

So, there really isn’t a specific website for this, but you can just find them on the official site http://www.tbs.com/stories/story/0,,259331,00.html or search it. Also, some of these I just heard on the show, so I didn’t get them specifically from anywhere.

So ta ta for now and I hope to see your chemical reaction soon!

Leave a Reply

